Rosemary Merlot and Shallot Beef Stew

With all the updating I’ve been doing trying to get my cruise pictures on here I haven’t been able to tell y’all some of the most exciting news I’ve gotten all year! I applied, and got accepted, into Johnson and Wale’s Culinary School here in Charlotte!!! I was afraid I wasn’t going to get in thanks to a not so impressive college and high school track record but I guess they saw I’ve had a few years to reconsider my options and they’re giving me a chance! I am over the moon excited about it and to celebrate I’ve been practicing my cooking skills, not that I need much practice though since my boyfriend says he’s about 80% sure I could make mud taste good. Today I decided to surprise him with a cold weather favorite, my spin on beef stew. He was in charge of surprising me with desert which I told him to make sure it was chocolate and gooey, I guess his mud comment got in my head. Anyways, click through for a not so traditional beef stew!

Before I started I looked at a few recipes online to get some ideas since I’ve never actually made beef stew that didn’t come in a bag before and they all said they were a little time consuming. I didn’t find this to be the case however, you just need to do this on a day where you’ve got some time to kill I guess.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Pound Bottom Round Roast cut into bite sized chunks
  • 3 Cups Merlot
  • 1 Tbsp Rosemary
  • 1/2 Onion
  • 3 Stalks celery
  • 5 Large carrots
  • 2 Big potatoes
  • 1 Shallot
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic (or 2 cloves if you’re doing it yourself, but as much as I use garlic I can never seem to use a whole head up before it starts growing so I just buy the stuff in a glass jar)
  • 3 Cups beef broth
  • 1/2 Cup sour cream
  • 1/4 Cup olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Directions:

  1. Marinate the meat in 1/2 Cup of the wine and 1/2 of the rosemary for around 1 hour.
  2. Before I really started cooking I started off cutting up all of my vegetables first, chop the carrots and celery, cut the potatoes into bite sized pieces, dice the onion and shallot. Leave half of the onion with the carrots, celery, and potatoes, and put the other half with the shallot.
  3. Using about 2 Tbsp of the the wine, 2 Tbsp of the olive oil, and 1 Tbsp of the balsamic vinegar saute the onion, shallot, and 1 Tbsp of garlic together until cooked enough you can smell it but still a little raw.
  4. Transfer mixture into a cast iron skillet and add the meat and the wine it was marinating in. Add remaining rosemary and 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar. Brown meat in this mixture at a low temperature.
  5. While meat is browning combine everything that’s left but the vegetables in a large mixing bowl. Stir until blended but please be careful not to get red wine all over you. I look like an alcoholic now.
  6. In your crock pot add vegetables, everything that’s in the skillet, and then the liquid mixture (I learned this the hard way and ended up with even more red wine on me). Stir from bottom to top until all ingredients are combined.
  7. Cook on high, stirring occasionally, until you are ready to eat.

The boyfriend said that this was possibly is favorite thing I’ve made, but of course he says that all the time 🙂

Tagged , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

