I Heart Honduras

While I was in absolute awe of the wild beauty of Belize, I fell in love with the beautiful Isla Roatan, Honduras. Belize is a place I would go visit but Isla Roatan is a place I could see myself living. Click through to hear more and for more pictures!

This boat is the first thing you will see as you are pulling into port. A local from the island told us that it blew in one night from a storm and has been there now for about 25 years. There is another boat out stranded too and that one was taken out of commission by fire. We pulled into Mahogany Bay, Carnival’s new port that opened in 2009, stupid early. I love cruising, however, I do not love waking up at ridiculous hours of the morning. At least on a cruise it is always worth it.

I wasn’t huge on Mahogany Bay because it was just way too touristy for me. Everything there was just like every other terminal we were in, I mean, how many Diamonds Internationals do you need to visit in one week? I couldn’t wait to get on the bus and away from it.

One of Isla Roatan’s biggest attractions is the fact that the Mesoamerican Reef is located right off the island, the reef is the second largest world next to Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. The reef is only about 35 feet out from Tabyana Beach (the top picture of the post was taken there) which is around a 30 minute drive from Carnival’s port. In that 30 minutes I got to see a little part part of the island and got to ask a local all sorts of crazy questions. Apparently there are approximately 5,000 expats living on the island. After the little slice of paradise I saw maybe one day there will be 5,001.

Tabyana Beach was absolutely beautiful. The sun was shining, the water was perfect, the beer was cold, the music was relaxing. Unfortunately, my snorkel was broken so I wasn’t able to swim out to the coral reef but my family did and they said it was awesome. The only thing that I wasn’t too fond of was on the beach there were a lot of peddlers and they kept coming up to you until you flat out said no. People gotta make a living somehow though.

Please, if you use my pictures credit me and link back to my site!

Tagged , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

