Cheesy Chicken Quinoa Casserole

We couldn't wait to eat it!

The other night while I was waiting for the boyfriend to get home I got hungry, like really, really hungry. I was also really, really broke so my options where kind of limited. I knew that the grocery had chicken breasts on sale so I decided to just raid my kitchen and make a casserole, because you can throw almost anything in a dish and call it a casserole. I went to the grocery and bought the chicken and also some low sodium cream of mushroom soup. I always keep quinoa on hand and if you haven’t discovered the joys of quinoa yet, I highly recommend that you do. This delicious grain can be substituted in almost any dish for rice and it packs a nutritious punch. It’s a complete protein which means it is high in essential amino acids, it’s also a good source of fiber, phosphorous, magnesium, and iron. It’s also fairly cheap, especially if you buy it in bulk, and it expands like crazy so you don’t have to use much. As you can see from the picture, the boyfriend and I chowed down so fast I didn’t even get a chance to take a picture before! 

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup quinoa
  • 1 Pkg boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 Small can low sodium condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 Pkg Lipton Onion Dip
  • 3 Tbsp sour cream
  • 1/4 Cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 Cup Romano cheese, diced small
  • 1/4 Cup goat cheese
  • 1 Cup of your favorite shredded cheese
  • Handful pine nuts

Directions:

  1. Rinse quinoa until water is clear. Boil quinoa in about 3 cups of water for a few minutes until most of the water is absorbed.
  2. Rinse and cut chicken breasts into bite sized chunks.
  3. Mix together cream of mushroom soup, onion dip, sour cream, cilantro, and cheese. Stir in quinoa and then chicken. The water from the quinoa will help “uncondense” the soup.
  4. Transfer to a casserole dish. Cover with shredded cheese and sprinkle pine nuts on top. Bake at 350 for around an hour.
Tagged , , , , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

