RIP Hetty Virginia Price 1913-2011

My great-grandmother on my mother’s side (my maternal grandmother’s mom) passed away on Monday. She was an amazing woman and I am very lucky that I got to know her. Not many people I know ever actually get to meet any of their great-grandparents but I am incredibly blessed to have known 3 of my great-grandmothers. In honor of my Mama Hetty I decided to make a cake from one of her recipes for her funeral tomorrow and let me tell ya, she was definitely looking down on me and laughing. I guess she had to do something to let me know she was there and not happy about me deviating from the original recipe. It took way longer to cook than it should have and I won’t really know if it cooked all the way through until tomorrow. I’m giving you the non-me-edited version so that she doesn’t look down on you and laugh, enjoy!

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cake

Mama Hetty’s Chocolate Covered Cherry Cake 

Ingredients:

  • 1Package of Devil’s Food Cake
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 Cup Vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp Almond oil
  • 1 Can cherry pie filling
1. Mix all ingredients and pour into greased and floored pan. Bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes (or if it ends up like mine, 60 minutes).
Topping:
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Evaporated milk
  • 5 Tbs Butter
  • 6 oz Chocolate chips
1. Combine sugar, cream, and butter. Bring to a boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate chips until melted.
Oh, and I sprinkled some walnuts on top because they were in my cabinet and I felt like it.
Tagged , , , ,

Tell me what you think!

